Manhattan Pizza

Manhattan Pizza
2900 Levick Street

Castro:

It seems only logical that after a 2-hour video shoot involving us making and eating pizza that one would get hungry. What better way to satisfy that hunger than with…more pizza. I decided we should go with a little home field advantage for this week’s review. Manhattan pizza. Nestled on the corner of Harbison and Levick, they’ve been saucing up slices for as long as I can remember. I can recall walking home from grade school, book bag up front like a nerd, and getting paper plated pizza from these guys. Since then, Manhattan has been on the receiving end of numerous drunken phone calls at midnight for one of their pepperoni pizzas. I gotta say, I probably order from here once a week. It’s my go to joint for a quick slice when I don’t feel like leaving the safety of my pajama pants or my video game chair.

Our topping choices seemed like they were pretty solid picks: Half steak and mushroom, half sausage and hot peppers. Even though Manhattan and I go way back, as a proud Doughboy I’m compelled to be honest with our followers about the pie we feasted on today. It fuckin’ sucked. I don’t know if they were having a bad day or what, but I was extremely disappointed with it. The sausage was easily forgettable and mediocre at best. The crust was barely up to par, lacking a certain level of much required crispness.  My favorite part was the not-so-special hot peppers, and that shouldn’t be the case. Usually I go with a straight pepperoni pizza and it’s almost always flawless. Let me let you in on a little secret. There’s two special words that when uttered, can change any pizza from just okay to legendary. “Well. Done.” If you get your pie cooked just a little bit longer, it can really make a huge difference in taste. I forgot to tell them and it completely shattered my cheesy hopes and saucy dreams. After we ate this pie, not a word was spoken between us. We just sat back and watched Robocop.

I don’t want today’s review to sway your vote in ever eating a Manhattan pie. Try it out for yourself. Get yourself a large pepperoni, well done of course, and come back to us with your findings. I’d put them up against any joint in the neighborhood and they wouldn’t go down without a fight. However, today’s pizza was a disaster.

Plichter:

In my opinion, you should never have to ask for your pizza to be “well done.” If you’re dealing with a pizzeria that knows what they’re doing, they’ll cook your pie to perfection. This was not the case today, as our pizza from Manhattan was easily undercooked.

I never had this pizza before, and it’ll be a decent amount of time before I give them another shot. The sausage looked like rat shit, the cheese was dull and the dough was barely cooked. If you don’t believe me, just check out the pictures of the pie. The tasty hot peppers are worth mentioning, even though it’s doubtful that Manhattan had anything to do with their production. The steak wasn’t bad either, but not good enough to deserve a decent review.

Honestly, I don’t mind eating shitty pizza and giving it a bad review from time to time. It’s a lot easier to put down crappy pizza than it is to praise perfect pizza. On that note, I’d like to thank Manhattan for making this a particularly easy review to write. At least Robocop didn’t let me down.

About Doughboys Pizza Blog

2 totally awesome, self proclaimed pizza experts on a never ending quest for the best slices in Philadelphia.

One response »

  1. Why do yous go to shitty neighborhood joints, and load up on toppings? You know they are going to have the lowest quality shit. I could have told you that pizza loaded up with all that mess was going to suck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

