The Bistro at Cherry Hill

The Bistro

Stacked with choices

An open kitchen leaves nothing for the imagination.

Eggplant

Taco za

Tag team, back again…

Taco meat making it’s way to my belly

Sizing up my opponent

The Bistro at Cherry Hill
Cherry Hill Mall, New Jersey

Castro:

The Cherry Hill Mall has undergone an extensive facelift within the past 5 years. The new owners are trying to replicate The King Of Prussia Mall with the addition of numerous high end stores and an upper echelon of restaurants to attract the higher class consumer. One of those restaurants is an open style eatery located in the lower level between Macy’s and Nordstrom. I’ve been coming to The Bistro for the longest. The extensive variety of items on their menu is astronomical considering the location and the size of their kitchen. Seriously. A pizza/pasta station, a brick oven, a deep fryer, and a sandwich/salad area…all cramed within a 20’X10′ open kitchen. It’s pretty crazy watching the cooks work their magic. I’m pretty sure I’ve tasted everything The Bistro has to offer. From their Penne Vodka to their famous tomato bisque soup, I have yet to complain about a visit here. One thing that separates The Bistro from most other restaurants is the counter top seating that lines the perimeter and allows you to view the chefs at work. I don’t know about you, but there’s something truly satisfying about watching your food being prepared right in front of you. The Bistro could easily be one of the places you’d see Guy Fieri and his frosted bangs highlight on Triple D.

Out of all the times that I’ve been bistro’d, I never really dabbled in their pizza, aside from their plain pie. Their burgers and sandwiches always had me sticking to that particular part of the menu. Today, I turned the page and decided to sample 2 of the Chef recommended pizzas. The first was their fried eggplant pie. A traditional pizza that utilizes a sweet pomodoro sauce, mozzarella and parmesan cheeses, fresh basil and crunchy pan fried eggplant. I love eggplant. I love fried eggplant. I especially love fried eggplant offered as a topping on pizza. It shows me that whichever chef designed the menu isn’t scared to cross that line which borders normal and unique toppings to showcase their creativity. This pie wasn’t too shabby. The crispy texture of the eggplant mixed with the gooey cheese was a welcomed change to my daily pizza intake. The weight didn’t hold up well on the crust, but the combination of flavors from the eggplant and pomodoro sauce totally redeemed that fact.

The 2nd pie of the day was without a doubt the better of the 2. Who doesn’t like tacos?! Any variation of tacos is usually awesome. When you take the main embodiment of a taco and incorporate it into pizza, great things happen. The taco pie starts off with a fistful of seasoned ground beef topped with filletto pomodoro sauce and smothered with a cheddar and mozzerella cheese mix. After the pizza smolders in their wood fired inferno, it’s taken out and finished off with ice cold shredded lettuce, sliced juicy tomatoes, an extra garnish of cheddarella cheeses and a drizzle of taco sauce. At first bite, you’d think you were eating an actual taco (minus the crunch of the shell). The meat was seasoned to perfection and only hyped up the spicy zing of the taco sauce. I can see why this was one of the only 3 chef recommended pies on the menu. I scarfed down all 6 slices without even thinking. Even the taco meat that fell from my slice onto my star wars shirt got eaten. One thing I would love to see added to this pie would be a little sour cream. I think the cool creaminess of the sour cream would ultimately turn this pizza into greatness. But then again, what do I know. I’m just a doughboy.

All in all, The Bistro pizza experience was all I hoped and knew it would be. Sandwiches and pasta may be The Bistro’s signature items, but don’t be afraid to sample the unique wood fired pizza creations they have to offer. With 15+ pies to choose from, there’s sure to be something to tickle everyone’s fancy.

About Doughboys Pizza Blog

2 totally awesome, self proclaimed pizza experts on a never ending quest for the best slices in Philadelphia.

One response »

  1. Ah haven’t had a bad meal at The Bistro. There’s no need for a food court.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

